Notice of Board Position Vacancy

It is with sadness we announce the resignation of David Vrshek, one of our longtime resident directors of Fort Bend County MUD No. 187. David’s resignation creates a vacancy on our Board. The Board is accepting applications from interested District residents to fill this vacancy.

Under State Law, the Board appoints a replacement director to serve out David’s remaining term, which expires in May 2024. The District is a political subdivision of the State of Texas, created to provide water, sewer, drainage, park and road facilities to our residents. The Board oversees the issuance of bonds to reimburse the developer of the District who has pre-funded our water, sanitary sewer, drainage, and park and road systems, sets the annual property tax rate to pay the debt service on the bonds and to operate and maintain the District. Because the District is a political subdivision of the State of Texas, if appointed, you would be a “public officer” of the State. There are both qualifications and disqualifications to serve on the Board. To be qualified, you must be a resident citizen of the District. The disqualifications for service are generally the following: (1) you cannot be related to any of the other Directors within the 3rd degree by blood or marriage, (2) you cannot be an employee of the developer, a director, the District’s engineer or attorney or other company providing professional services to the District, and (3) a party to a contract with the District. A complete list of disqualifications is found in Section 49.052 of the Texas Water Code.

If you have questions about your qualification or disqualification, or if you are interested in applying for the open position on the Board, please send your questions and resume to by October 31, 2023. The Board will consider all qualified applications and notify potential candidates of the next steps after the Board’s regular meeting on November 14, 2023.

The Board of Directors
Larry J. Junek, Vice President
Donna Coleman, Assistant Vice President
Brenda Farley, Secretary
Sam Mayson, Assistant Secretary